YOU ARE HERE: Burbank HomeCollections

TOWN:Burbank Jaycees honor their own


March 14, 2007|By DAVID LAURELL

The final line of the Jaycee Creed states, "Service to humanity is the best work of life." Members of the Burbank chapter of the Junior Chamber of Commerce prove that statement to be true on a regular basis as they play a significant role in the betterment of our community.

The Burbank Jaycees presented their annual awards and installation dinner on Sunday at The Castaway. The annual awards ceremony acknowledges the work of chapter members and others who have supported the organization throughout the year.

Jack Witt, who serves as the president of the Universal City/North Hollywood Jaycees, was master of ceremonies. He kicked off the awards ceremony by presenting the organization's Individual Development Project of the Year award to Robyn Sanford.


The Membership Project of the Year award went to Jackie Lewis, Francesca Fitchett, Chris Lorefice, Bernard Donohue and Elana Edelstein for a program that helped new members learn more about the Jaycee organization. The project's team put together a complete orientation curriculum and informational packet for prospective members. Within two months, every identified prospect had become an active member of the chapter.

The Marketing Project of the Year award was bestowed on Dominic Izon and Tina Schrader.

The project that was honored as both the chapter's Community Project of the Year and Management Project of the Year was a fundraiser that supported the Mervyns Back to School ChildSpree, in which local Jaycees accompanied underprivileged children from the Burbank Boys & Girls Club and the Glendale YWCA Domestic Violence Program on a shopping spree to buy back-to-school clothing and supplies.

Jackie Lewis and Rob Hollis accepted the award on behalf of the project committee that included Bernard Donohue, Elana Edelstein, Chris Lorefice, Louis Hamel, Dominic Izon, Janice DeGuzman, Danella Putna and Tina Schrader. The Jaycees also recognized Peggy Korecko as First Time Project Coordinator of the Year.

The New Jaycee of the Year award went to Teresa Sanchez, who has made it her personal mission over this past year to assist the chapter in recruiting new members. The Jaycee Spirit Award went to Peggy Korecko. The Jaycee of the Year Award was awarded to Chris Lorefice.

Burbank Leader Articles Burbank Leader Articles