On The Town:

Burbank Jaycees install new leadership

March 25, 2009|By DAVID LAURELL

Members and supporters of the Burbank Junior Chamber escaped to an island of tropical fantasy last week where they honored the service of the organization’s 2008 board of directors and welcomed those who will serve in leadership roles throughout 2009.

The Jaycees celebrated their annual Awards and Installation Gala at the Castaway with a theme and décor inspired by the 1970s television series “Fantasy Island.”

Among the special guests in attendance were International Junior Chamber International Vice President Kevin Alson, California Jaycees President Matt Bromund, Burbank Mayor Dave Golonski and organization members and supporters, including Suzanne Porush, Marci Burgdorf, Debbie Holbrook, Tara Nathan, Chris Murphy, Jessica Duong, Henrik Helgesen, Elana Edelstein, Janice De Guzman, Dominic Izon, Levi Bennett and Barbara Sharp.


The first chapter of the Burbank Junior Chamber was chartered in the mid-1950s and was an active organization until the 1980s. In 1998, Jim Lawson and Wendy Weichel re-chartered the group that has gone on to become an award-winning chapter.

Since their reorganization, the Burbank Jaycees have received special recognition from the president of the U.S. Junior Chamber and the president of the California Junior Chamber.

The group has garnered laurels for chapter growth in their division and has also been honored as the top membership chapter by the state of California.

Today, the Burbank Junior Chamber has established a good working relationship with the Burbank Chamber of Commerce and is actively recruiting new members within Burbank companies and small businesses.

During the event, special recognition was bestowed upon longtime Burbank Jaycees member Jackie Lewis, who was lauded for her 10 years of faithful service.

Last week’s event also gave members the opportunity to show their appreciation to those who held leadership roles during the past year.

The 2008 board of directors included President Peggy Korecko, Chairman of the Board Chris Lorefice, Management Vice President Jackie Lewis, Membership Vice President Elana Edelstein, Individual Development Vice President Teresa Sanchez, Community Vice President Melissa Merritt, Marketing Vice President Tina Schrader, Marketing Director Dominic Izon, Community Director Nicole Marchluk, State Director John Dillon, Director At Large Connie Young, Treasurer Louis Hamel, Legal Counsel Marie Dimacali and Secretary Elizabeth Green.

The event also saw the 2009 board of directors sworn in.

Taking the oath were Lindsay Baca, president; Peggy Korecko, chairwoman of the board; Elana Edelstein, management vice president; Chris Lorefice, membership vice president; Teresa Sanchez, individual development vice president; Nicole Marchluk, community development vice president; Tina Schrader, marketing vice president; Melissa Merritt, community director; Jessica Duong, membership director; Christie Basteris, director at large; Susie Augustine, state director; and Louis Hamel, treasurer.

 DAVID LAURELL can be contact at or (818) 563-1007.

Burbank Leader Articles Burbank Leader Articles