YOU ARE HERE: Burbank HomeCollections

Next group set for Burbank High Athletic Hall of Fame

Twelve former standouts to be honored in next Burbank Athletic Hall of Fame induction.

July 17, 2012|By Jeff Tully,

A fine group of former athletes have been honored in two induction ceremonies of the Burbank High Athletic Hall of Fame since it was founded in 2008.

Names like Jeff Nelson, Cathy Ferguson, Paul Cameron, Christy Calderon, Ralph Botting, John Musich and Freddy Sanchez have been just some of the individuals who have been permanently enshrined and their honors and exploits displayed in the lobby of the Burbank High gym.

"We have gotten a lot of positive feedback about the Hall of Fame displays that we've put up," said Burbank Athletic Director Fred Cook, who is responsible for establishing and maintaining the Hall of Fame. "I was at the gym the other day and some guy came in off the street just to look at the Hall of Fame displays."


Next fall, a new group of 12 former Bulldogs standouts will take their place when a third induction event will be held. The event is scheduled for Sept. 8 in the school's auditorium. There will be a meet-and-greet at 5:30 p.m. followed by the ceremony at 6.

"We like to make it a real special event," said Cook, who adds to the Hall of Fame every two years.

This year's list of honorees include:


A 1956 Burbank graduate, Richards cultivated a boys' tennis dynasty for the Bulldogs. Along with winning a CIF Southern Section III championship in 1993 — the last title won by the school in any sport — his teams advanced to the division quarterfinals 12 of 13 years. In addition, Burbank captured 13 straight Foothill League crowns under Richards.


Loutensock was a teacher in the Burbank Unified School District for 32 years. He was the Indians boys' basketball coach from 1958-75 and has the most wins in program history. In 1967, a squad coached by Loutensock and paced by a nucleus of six fine players — Dave LeSueur, Benton White, Bob Saia, Ron Davidson, John Hoofman and Mike Acosta — advanced to CIF Division 3-A semifinals. That year, the Bulldogs won the Foothill League championship and amassed 24 wins.


The 1967 graduate was an important member of the 1967 team that advanced to the CIF semifinals. He is the only basketball player from the school to earn high school All-America honors. He also won all-league and All-CIF Southern Section accolades.


Burbank Leader Articles Burbank Leader Articles