YOU ARE HERE: Burbank HomeCollections

Recognizing this year's Tully Trophy winners

School year featured share of fine accomplishments, great feats, as well as some disappointing moments.

June 27, 2013|By Jeff Tully,
(Cheryl A. Guerrero…)

Summer is in full force and many local high school athletes are finally getting some time to relax, while others are competing in summer leagues, after an eventful 2012-13 school year.

The year saw its share of remarkable achievements, successful teams and outstanding individuals who helped make the campaign memorable.

But along with the successes were disappointing moments and unique happenings that deserve recognition.

As is the yearly tradition, these deserving athletes, coaches and events from the four high schools — Burbank, Burroughs, Providence and Bellarmine-Jefferson highs — should be given special treatment.

So here is this year's list of Tully Trophy winners. To be a recipient, an individual, team or school has to exhibit meritorious or worthy accomplishment. Either that, or they have to have done something stupid or strange.

So, without further adieu, here are the winners from the 2012-13 school year.

The third time's a charm trophy is awarded to the Bellarmine-Jefferson High softball team. The Guards were finally able to win a CIF Southern Section Division VI championship after falling in the title game the previous two years in Division VII. It was just the third CIF championship in school history in any sport.


The tough break trophy goes to Burroughs senior boys' tennis player Garrett Auproux. The two-time Pacific League singles champion and two-time All-Area Singles Player of the Year suffered a devastating injury, breaking his leg in two places, during a youth tournament in the midst of the season. However, even without their star, the Indians went on to capture a league championship.

The too close for comfort trophy goes to Burbank softball teammates Cailtyn Brooks and Kaitlin Brooks. At least they don't play the same position, as Caitlyn is a pitcher and Kaitlin is an outfielder — I think.

The sister act trophy is presented to siblings Caitlyn and Tyler Brooks. While Tyler helped lead the Burbank girls' volleyball team to a share of the Pacific League championship and was voted the league MVP, sis Caitlyn paced the Bulldogs softball team to a league crown while also being named league MVP.

The hate to see you go trophy is given to Providence sophomore basketball sensation Marcus LoVett Jr. LoVett, an All-CIF Player of the Year and the All-Area Player of the Year who is regarded as one of the top athletes in his class in the country, left the school during the season. We will have to see where he winds up.

Burbank Leader Articles Burbank Leader Articles